Bustin’ makes me feel good?

2717

So the new Ghostbuster’s has got ok reviews. Great, good for them. The pre release hysteria around an all female cast was a complete red herring for me. Creativity in Hollywood is bankrupt. How many movies now a days are reboots? How many of them are any good? I can recall one I enjoyed and that was the remake of the Italian Job with, yes…..Mark Wahlberg and Jason Statham. Still I would argue that once a film is released it stands on its own as a reflection of its time and place in culture. If we continue to cannibalise our own history then where do we find the next great stories for the ages.

As far as Hollywood blockbusters go I can only really think of The Matrix as an example of a totally original story that will stand the test of time, and that is because the directors were auteurs not studio hired hacks. People will argue that great stories always get retold for a new generation to enjoy, but tell me why my kids couldn’t just watch the 1984 Ghostbusters, the reason it’s a classic is it stands the test of time. So lets spend our creative energies on creating new mythologies that become the great nostalgic experiences of the next 50 years.

Now if you will excuse me I have to get back to Final Draft, I am writing a story about a handsome archeologist who is tough but kind…..3136

Bustin’ makes me feel good?

Leave a Reply

